AMERICAN MUSICOLOGICAL SOCIETY SOUTHERN CHAPTER NEWSLETTER

http://www.fsu.edu/~activity/sfm/AMSS

Vol. 38, No. 2 (March 2008)

REPORT OF THE 2008 ANNUAL MEETING

The Florida State University School of Music hosted a joint annual meeting of the Southern Chapter of the American Musicological Society (AMS-S) and the Southeast and Caribbean Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology (SEMSEC) 29 February–1 March. The program and abstracts of papers read at the AMS-S sessions will soon be posted on our Web site. The society wishes to thank Frank Gunderson (our local arrangements chair) and all others involved in making the meeting so successful and enjoyable.

2009 ANNUAL MEETING

The University of Southern Mississippi School of Music will host the 2009 annual meeting of AMS-S. The date of the meeting will be determined sometime in April or May. Please see the AMS-S Web site listed in the masthead for updates.

DUES

Annual dues for the society are \$10 for regular members and \$5 for students. Please remember that our share of the national funds is based on the number of paid regional memberships. At the recent annual meeting at Florida State University, the registration team of the local arrangements committee has inadvertently charged attendees the registration fee only. If you still owe the dues for 2008, please send a check (made out to AMS) in the amount of \$10 (regular members) or \$5 (student members) to:

Andreas Giger School of Music Louisiana State University Baton Rouge, LA 70803

STUDENT PAPER AWARD

The 2008 Student Paper Award was given to Tina Huettenrauch (Louisiana State University) for her paper "The *Mise en scène* of Rossini's *Le Siège de Corinthe* and the Conventions of Staging at the Paris Opéra in the 1820s." Congratulations!

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Program Committee for the 2009 annual meeting: Margaret Butler (University of Florida), chair; Charles Brewer (Florida State University) and Edward Hafer (University of Southern Mississippi). Nominating Committee: Douglass Seaton (Florida State University), chair; Alice Clark (Loyola University).

CHAPTER OFFICERS AND REPRESENTATIVES

We have new chapter officers and representatives. Those names preceded by an asterisk in the following list were either elected at the 2008 business meeting or took a new position determined by traditional rotation:

*Linda Cummins (University of Alabama), President

*Jennifer Thomas (University of Florida), Past President

Andreas Giger (Louisiana State University), Secretary-Treasurer

Valerie Goertzen (Loyola University), AMS Council representative

*William Horne (Loyola University), Abstracts editor

Tina Huettenrauch (Louisiana State University), Student representative

*Phillip Klepacki (University of Florida), Student representative

Amy Dunning (Florida State University), Web master

ABOUT OUR NEW OFFICERS

William Horne is Professor of Theory and Composition at Loyola University New Orleans. His research on Brahms and Beethoven has appeared in *The Musical Quarterly*, the *Journal of Musicology*, *Beethoven Forum*, and various essay collections. Along with Valerie Goertzen, he edits *The American Brahms Society Newsletter*. As a composer, he has written a variety of solo vocal and instrumental works as well chamber music and pieces for larger instrumental and vocal ensembles. A selection of his pieces has recently appeared on a Centaur Records release, *The Music of William Horne*, CRC 2845.

Phillip Klepacki is in his second year as a doctoral fellow in musicology and conducting at the University of Florida. He earned his B.A. in Music from Florida State University and the M.M. in Choral Conducting from the University of Florida. His research interests include twentieth-century music (particularly minimalism and American popular music) as well as literary theory and queer studies. In addition to his studies, Phillip is the associate conductor of the Gainesville Civic Chorus and conductor of its chamber choir, The Choristers.

YOU'VE GOT MAIL!

But we need your address to send it. If you are reading this newsletter as a forwarded message or in hard copy, please send your email address to agiger1@lsu.edu.

CHAPTER WEB SITE

Please note the link to our chapter Web site on the masthead, and consult the AMS Web site http://www.ams-net.org/chapters/chapterofficers.php for updates on our permanent email addresses. Thanks to Florida State University and Amy Dunning for maintaining the chapter Web site.