AMERICAN MUSICOLOGICAL SOCIETY SOUTHERN CHAPTER NEWSLETTER

http://union.fsu.edu/rso/sfm/AMSS/

Vol. 39, No. 3 (September 2009)

UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA, 2010 MEETING

5-6 February

CALL FOR PAPERS

The University of Florida School of Music will host the 2010 annual meeting of the American Musicological Society, Southern Chapter (AMS-S), from 5 to 6 February on the campus of the University of Florida in Gainesville. More information will be available on the conference Web site, which will go up shortly at www.arts.ufl.edu/music/AMS (if clicking on the link produces an error, please copy and paste the URL into your Web browser).

PAPER PROPOSALS:

To submit a proposal for the Chapter meeting, send an abstract as an email attachment in Microsoft Word format (with a .doc extension) to the abstracts editor, Dr. William Horne, at wphorne@loyno.edu. The abstracts editor will remove the names from the proposals and submit them anonymously to the program committee. Submissions must be received by Monday, 9 November 2009, 6 pm.

Abstracts should be double-spaced, <u>no longer than 500 words</u>, and they should indicate all equipment needs. Papers as read should not exceed twenty minutes.

Please consider the following guidelines for abstracts as published in the national AMS Newsletter:

Abstracts should represent the talk as fully as possible. Successful abstracts typically state the specific research findings, substantiate them, and indicate their significance. Abstracts should make clear what is already known and what is new in the proposal. The Program Committee generally will fault abstracts that merely allude to findings or conclusions. (Vol. XXX, Number II, August 2000, p. 13.)

STUDENT PAPER AWARD:

Students whose papers have been accepted for the program may apply to receive the Student Paper Award of \$250 by following these guidelines:

- 1. To be eligible for the student paper award, a student must be enrolled in a graduate music program, must not have completed the Ph.D., and must be a current member of both national AMS and the Southern Chapter.
- 2. Before being considered for the award, student papers must be accepted for presentation at the Chapter meeting through the normal review process. The student whose paper is accepted must attend the Chapter meeting and present the paper.
- 3. A copy of the complete paper, including handouts and musical examples, must be received by the President, Dr. Linda Cummins, via email at lcummins@music.ua.edu or conventional mail at:

Linda Cummins University of Alabama School of Music, Box 870366 Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0366

Any other accompanying audio-visual materials must be sent in triplicate by conventional mail.

The deadline for submitting the complete materials is **5 January 2010**.

- 4. The award will consist of \$250. The winner will be announced at the business meeting or (if the competition extends into Saturday morning) immediately after the meeting. In addition, he or she will be announced in the subsequent AMS-S newsletter.
- 5. The committee reserves the right to refrain from making an award if the members deem no student paper worthy. A student who wins the award is ineligible to receive the award again in the year immediately following.

ARE YOU A MEMBER, OR HAS YOUR MEMBERSHIP LAPSED?

Note that your AMS-S dues for the year 2009 (\$10.00 for regular members; \$5.00 for student members) can be paid anytime. If you have missed your opportunity for 2009, it's not too late! Our share of the national funds is based on the number of paid regional memberships, and dues are welcome any time. If you are not sure of your status, email the Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. Margaret Butler, at butlermr@ufl.edu. You may send dues by check to:

Margaret Butler University of Florida School of Music P.O. Box 117900 Gainesville, FL 32611-7900

CHAPTER OFFICERS AND REPRESENTATIVES

Linda Cummins (University of Alabama), President
Andreas Giger (Louisiana State University), President-Elect
Margaret Butler (University of Florida), Secretary-Treasurer
Valerie Goertzen (Loyola University), AMS Council representative
William Horne (Loyola University), Abstracts editor
John D. Spilker (Florida State University), Student representative
Phillip Klepacki (University of Florida), Student representative
Amy Dunning (Florida State University), Web master

AMS-S COMMITTEES

Program Committee, 2010 annual meeting: Charles Brewer (Florida State University), chair; Edward Hafer (University of Southern Mississippi) and Joanna Biermann (University of Alabama)

Nominating Committee: Douglass Seaton (Florida State University), chair; Gregory Harwood (Georgia Southern University)

Student Liaison: Jennifer Thomas (University of Florida)

CHAPTER ARCHIVES

Wallace McKenzie (Louisiana State University, Emeritus), a long-time member of our chapter, has agreed to serve as chapter archivist. The collection, once organized, will be housed at LSU's Hill Memorial Library. If you have materials you would like included in the chapter archives, please contact Wallace at: wallace10mck@cs.com.

YOU'VE GOT MAIL!

But we need your address to send it. If you are reading this newsletter as a forwarded message or in hard copy, please send your email address to butlermr@ufl.edu.

CHAPTER WEB SITE

Please note the link to our chapter Web site on the masthead, and consult the AMS Web site http://www.ams-net.org/chapters/chapterofficers.php for updates on our permanent email addresses. Thanks to Florida State University and Amy Dunning for maintaining the chapter Web site.