AMERICAN MUSICOLOGICAL SOCIETY SOUTHERN CHAPTER

Report of the 2018 Annual Meeting

Louisiana State University hosted the 2018 annual meeting of the American Musicological Society Southern Chapter on February 16–17 in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Twenty-eight regular members and 17 student members attended the meeting. The Society wishes to thank Brett Boutwell for handling local arrangements and all others who worked to make this an enjoyable and stimulating meeting. The conference program and paper abstracts are available on the <u>AMS-S website.</u>

Announcement of the 2019 Annual Meeting

Our next annual meeting will be held at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, Florida on February 22–23, 2019. Updates will be posted on the AMS-S website, and the call for papers will appear in the September 2018 newsletter. *Please note that those reading papers at the meeting must be members in good standing of both AMS-S and the national organization.*

Dues

Annual dues for our chapter are \$10 for regular members and \$5 for students. If you did not attend the meeting in Baton Rouge, you may still owe dues for 2018. Please send a note with your current email address along with a check in the appropriate amount (made out to AMS, with "Southern Chapter Dues" in the memo line) to the AMS-S Secretary-Treasurer:

Dr. Joseph Sargent University of Montevallo Station 6670, Davis Hall Montevallo, AL 35115

General Announcements

At the 2018 annual meeting, Bryan Proksch introduced a proposal to establish a permanent rotating schedule for hosting the AMS-S annual meeting, under which the meeting would be hosted every two years by one of the chapter's three universities granting doctoral degrees in musicology (Louisiana State University, University of Florida, Florida State University). With Louisiana State University having hosted the 2018 meeting, Florida State has offered to host in 2020. The rotation would therefore continue with University of Florida in 2022 and then repeat thereafter. The membership agreed that this rotation would be beneficial to the chapter, and so it will be implemented as a general guideline.

Proksch also presented a proposal (previously distributed to the membership via email on 1 February) to change the AMS-S call for papers for future meetings to allow for presentations in varied formats. The proposal is designed to encourage greater creativity in what members can present at the meeting, and its language largely adopts the AMS national CFP of recent years, with changes made to facilitate AMS-S's typical meeting structure. In view of widespread

support among the membership, the executive committee will implement the revised language for the chapter's 2019 and 2020 CFPs and then revisit the proposal during the 2020 meeting at Florida State University.

Student Paper Award

The student paper award was not given this year, as the award committee could not reach a consensus on a winner. The executive committee strongly urges all eligible students who are reading at the 2019 meeting to submit their papers for this award. A submission deadline will be announced in the September 2018 newsletter. General guidelines for submission can be found in last September's newsletter.

Chapter Officers and Representatives

The list below contains the chapter's officers and representatives. Those whose names are preceded by an asterisk were either elected or appointed to new positions at the chapter's 2018 business meeting:

*Brett Boutwell (Louisiana State University), President

*Bryan Proksch (Lamar University), Past President

Joseph Sargent (University of Montevallo), Secretary-Treasurer

Sarah Eyerly (Florida State University), AMS Council Representative

Blake Howe (Louisiana State University), Abstracts Editor

Emily Theobald (University of Florida), Student Representative to AMS Council

*McKenna Milici (Florida State University), Student Representative to AMS Council Andreas Giger (Louisiana State University), Webmaster

About Our New Officers and Representatives

Brett Boutwell (President) is Associate Professor of Music at Louisiana State University. His work on American experimental music has appeared in the *Journal of the Society for American Music, Contemporary Music Review, American Music, Mitteilungen der Paul Sacher Stiftung,* and the *Grove Dictionary of American Music*. His most recent article, "Keller's Zak, Duchamp's Mutt, and the Art of the Ruse," is forthcoming in *Modernism/modernity*.

Bryan Proksch (Past President) is Associate Professor of Music History at Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas. His essays have appeared in the *Journal of the American Musicological Society*, the *Journal of Musicological Research*, the *Historic Brass Society Journal*, and elsewhere. His book *Reviving Haydn: New Appreciations in the Twentieth Century* was recently published by the University of Rochester Press. He holds two certifications from the American Guild of Organists, edits the "Repertoire Corner" for the *International Trumpet Guild Journal*, and is a National Arts Associate of Sigma Alpha Iota national music fraternity.

McKenna Milici (Student Representative to AMS Council) is a second-year Ph.D. student at Florida State University and an FSU Legacy Fellow. Her research covers vocal music of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, with an emphasis on feminist criticism of music. She plans

to pursue a dissertation that investigates the ways in which opera reckons with its history and the portrayal of women onstage. She completed her master's degree at FSU with a thesis on gender roles and female vocality in Kurt Weill's *Street Scene*, and she has presented her work at both regional and national meetings of the AMS. A trained vocalist, Milici made her international debut in Havana, Cuba last summer in a production of *Dido and Aeneas* with the Teatro Lírico Nacional de Cuba.

Chapter Committees

The Program Committee for the 2019 Annual Meeting is Sarah Caissie Provost (University of North Florida), chair; Joe Gennaro (University of Central Florida); and Kathleen Sewright (Winter Springs, Florida)

The Nominating Committee is Andreas Giger (Louisiana State University), chair; Margaret Butler (University of Florida); and Ed Hafer (University of Southern Mississippi)

Online Connections

If you received this message indirectly but would like to stay up to date on all of our newsletters and activities directly, you can add yourself to the AMS-S mailing list by joining our Google Group. If you have problems joining or otherwise need help, send an email to Bryan Proksch (bproksch@lamar.edu) and he can add you directly. You can also follow us on Facebook to keep apprised of the latest news about our chapter.

Our full <u>chapter website</u> contains minutes and programs of our annual meetings, past issues of the Newsletter, the chapter bylaws, members' news, and links to the national AMS website. Members are encouraged to send news of accomplishments, awards, or honors to chapter Webmaster Andreas Giger (<u>agiger1@lsu.edu</u>).